Adopt a One Paw – Pluto

  • I’m a male Pekingese from China and I’m approx. 5 years old.
  • I’m laid back and spend the majority of my day sleeping or pottering around the house. Everyone who meets me just loves me!
  • I have a few health conditions, I’m blind in one eye but this doesn’t bother me at all or effect my quality of life.
  • I have a heart condition called Mitral Valve Disease which is currently being managed by a healthy lifestyle and will need to be continued in my new home.
  • I enjoy walking, but because of my heart condition and build I can only walk short distances. I still need daily exercise to keep me healthy and in good shape, and I can walk up to 20 minutes a day.
  • I currently live with another small female dog and a medium size male dog. I enjoy their company but I am not interested in playing.
  • I’m happy to share the sofa and beds with them but I like to have my space when eating dinner and treats as I will snap if another dog gets too close when I’m eating.
  • I’d like to live with another calm dog who won’t pay me much attention, preferably a similar size to me. I’d need another dog that matches my energy level, as I don’t like to be left behind in the house.
  • I could live as an only dog, but would need someone to be with me most/all of the time as I can get anxious when left alone and will bark and cry.
  • I’d need someone who is able to continue my training to work on my separation anxiety. I find comfort when I’m left with the resident dogs and I don’t show signs of separation anxiety if another dog is with me.
  • I’ve not shown any interest in toys, but I am food motivated. I like cuddles, but equally I like my own space and will ask for attention on my terms.
  • I sleep downstairs with the resident dogs and I am quiet all night.
  • I’ve quickly picked up toilet training however I have had odd accidents in the morning if my foster mum has not woken up early up. I like routine.
  • I walk well on a lead and have no issue having my harness put on or taken off.
  • I’m friendly when meeting other dogs.
  • I’m friendly with new people and have no issue with strangers coming into the home.
  • I travel well in the car.
  • Knowledge/experience of Pekingese breed is preferable.
  • I have been cat tested and could live with a dog-savvy cat.
  • I have not been tested with children, however I would benefit from continuing to live in a quieter home due to my heart condition.
  • I am vaccinatyed/microchipped/neutered.
  • I am in a foster home in Nottingham.

PLEASE NOTE:  The high adoption donation reflects the costs involved in rescuing dogs from the China Meat Trade.  However, the adoption donation for Pluto is £500, which does take into account his heart condition.

If you are interested in adopting this dog please fill in our interest form.

If you would like to support our work please make a donation.

Interested in adopting this dog?

If you are interested in adopting this dog or any of our One Paws please fill in our interest form as the first step.

Donate to support our dogs

If you are not able to adopt but would like to support our work rescuing dogs in need, please make a donation.

  • 07596 366 616